7 Comments

A lovely piece of work

Geni ( second youngest) turns all of 14 this coming Sunday.  My delightful ( cough splutter) ex  engineered that Tony and I had the girls the first weekend post holidays which meant he had Geni for her birthday weekend.    The idea is to aggravate me. Well he failed ( as always) on that score.  

Geni blithely went about planning; Luna Park from 5pm until 10pm ish – her friends would pay their own way and then some of the kids would sleep over and all would go to the beach the next day.  The planning went well.

However, when we dropped Leonnie back to him Sunday night Geni popped in to see him momentarily and the yelling was heard out in the street.  Now it is not the nicest neighbourhood he lives in but still….Leonnie paniced and raced in and Geni came storming out and told us she was staying at our place the following weekend and no one could make her go there if she didn;t want to.

Nice one Dopey- you have done it again!!!

Geni had asked me about boys staying over and I did put some thought to it.  I did NOT go head to head with her about this.  Geni asked me to swap weekends with her father.  Please see below for the sms dance…

ME: “Geni has jus asked me to organise a swap for both girls for next weekend. 

DOPEY: MAGGIE, FOR THE RECORD I HAVE SAID AN ALMOST 14-YEAR OLD GIRL CAN’T HAVESOME BOYS ( INCLUDING HER BOYFRIEND) SLEEP OVERNIGHT AT MY HOUSE AFTER HER 14TH BIRTHDAY PARTY AS I BELIEVE IT WOULD BE INAPPROPRIATE, YOU WISH TO SWAP WEEKENDS, AT GEN’S REQUEST, AS YOU HAVE AGREED TO GEN’S DEMANDS TO ALLOW A GROUP OF 12,13, AND 14 YEAR OLD GILS AND SOME 14 YEAR OLD BOYS ( INCLUDING GEN’S BOYFRIEND) TO HAVE A SLEEPOVER AT YOUR PLACE?

ME: That is NOT correct G.  Geni wishes to swap weekends, for both girls so she can celebrate her birthdya with us.  We have notagreed to anything else and your implication that I have otherwise is duly noted.

DOPEY: MAGGIE FOR THE RECORD, GEN INFORMED ME THIS AFTERNOON THT BECAUSE I HAVE SAID SHE CAN’T HAVE SOME BOYS (INCLUDING HER BOYFRIEND) SLEEP OVERNIGHT AT MY HOUSE AFTER HER 14TH BIRTHDAY PARTY AS I BELIEVE IT WOULD BE INAPPROPRIATE, SHE WOULD BE GETTING YOU TO ORGANISE A SWAP OF WEEKENDS WITH ME, AT HER REQUEST AS SHE HAS ALREADY DISCUSSED IT WITH YOU AND YOU HAVE AGREED TO HER DEMANDS TO ALLOW A GROUP OF 12,13, AND 14 YEAR OLD GIRLS AND SOME 14 YEAR OLD BOYS (INCLUDING HER BOYFRIEND) TO HAVE A SLEEPOVER AT YOUR PLACE AFTER HER PARTY IF SHE SPENDS THE WEEKEND WITH YOU INSTEAD.

Me: Please see my last reply. 

Now the truth of the matter is that Geni did discuss this with me, however I did not agree.  Instead of going head-to-head with her, I pointed out what her boyfriend’s parents might think of her IF she did allow 14 year old boys to stay over.   Geni then made the decision herself to just have a handful of girls stay – and the boys could meet Saturday morning and they would all go to the beach. Fort he day.

Geni and Dopey own their own relationship.  He is not doing a particularly good job but that is not my issue.   He and Geni can sort that out themselves.   His expectation that I will whip her into shape for him is sadly awry.  

Geni and her girl friends are coming directly here from school and sleeping over ( with horror movies), and homemade pizza and pasta.  AND snacks.  The boys will arrive around 10am the following morning.  I will feed them all breakfast, and pack lunches and away to the beach they will go. OR to the movies ( depending on the weather. )

7 comments on “A lovely piece of work

  1. Thanks Dee.. methinks this will be my home as I am settling in so nicely!!! And yes it DID work out nicely as well. Kate, that si so true. Almost as if I couldn;t read he first time. Doh, Dopey, I did get it. This is from the man who when we first drafted a simple consent agreement about the girls had to “read” it and kept us waiting from 10.30am until 4.45pm. My lawyer looked at me and with a straight face said : “Can he read?”

  2. Sometimes the exes think we’re idiots. I used to shake my head at some of the stuff Jamie’s dad said.
    Hope the kids have fun!

  3. LOL@ the Dopey name….

    You did well mom. I’m glad the plans got ironed out. “Whew!” Eh? Haha!

    I like your Blog here by the way-very pretty and well laid out.

    Have a good week, Maggs- (tips my coffee mug up to cheer you*)

  4. Tanks Chaz. He truly is a lost cause ( and I am delighted he is an ex…didn;t think I would get away that easily!!) You know, I have at different times had daydreams of doing or arranging exactly that…Maggs

  5. WE could always pop round and explain the error of his ways…Maybe after the next Sydney meet? :))

  6. Thanks Lermie. I am quite comfy with the motherhood side of things. I find dealing with the idiot/rabid ex a lot more challenging. The kids have working brains ( not sure what happened to his!!) Maggs

  7. The joys of motherhood huh?
    And an Happy B’day to your girl

Leave a Reply

