6 Comments

Waiting – “How much of human life is lost in waiting” Ralph Waldo Emerson

I have given much thought to waiting in the last few days.    What is it?  It is when you know there i something or someone ahead in time and you are not quite there yet in hours and days, or even moments.

I m not a big fan of waiting and in this age of technology we have an entire generation of people raised on instant entertainment and instant gratification when in truth there are some benefits to waiting too.  Moments to savour the closeness of a long held dream,   moments to count the true cost of a decision, moments to simply stretch our patience ( I know mine has needed constant help to grow and stretch across this life time.)  Moments to count towards the fulfilling of a hope.

Between the wish and the thing life lies waiting.

I have said many times I have a degree in waiting.  I waited most of my life to be loved, a lot of that time not seeing the love that cushioned and surrounded me.  How vain and shallow and self centred a young girl was I.  Romantic love also was something I waited for.  I loved, why was I not loved back in the same way?  Simple really – the answer time has taught me , noone else IS me.  By not accepting the genuine outflowing of the love another can give, you miss an opportunity.  In case you are wondering, I am a true romantic.  And love is love is a constant, it is just persons who have their own lessons and their own ways of expressing love.

“People count up the faults of those who keep them waiting” French proverb.  Simply, I agree.

6 comments on “Waiting – “How much of human life is lost in waiting” Ralph Waldo Emerson

  1. Loved the post.. Love is love and the deeper love we have for ourselves it seems the deeper love we can share. At least that is how it seems, then again like you I am a romantic and love, love. Thank you for expressing your love in such a beautiful way… Thank you for stopping by and following my pages, I look forward to exploring yours! 🙂 Joe

  2. I googled this line after hearing it on Indiana Jones (the newest one) and found your site. I enjoyed your thoughts on “waiting”

    That poets, and proverbs, and people alike, share a fascination and appreciation (or attention at the very least) shows how important it is…

    patience, after all, is a virtue, no? =)

  3. Me too Westy!!!!

  4. I have spent soooooo much time waiting for something or someone all my life! I hate it, but that’s the way it is.

    I miss you Maggs….

  5. yet another good thought. Thanks Kate.

  6. I think we all wait for something more, not realizing we already have enough. Hope you’re having a good day Maggie! *hugs*

Leave a Reply

