1 Comment

wait

I wait for you.

I wait and you do not come.  The longer I wait, the more time I spend without you, the more difficult it becomes to think of anything else.

When I can bear my own company no longer and I am desperate for distraction, I set out to “discover” a friendly local anonymous cafe.  I got part of the way, turned a corner , but I didnt check before I stepped onto the road almost directly into the path of an oncoming car.

The driver wound down his window and called me a “stupid fxxxing bitch…, and made a rude gesture.  This left me so hollow and shaky that I turned on my heel and hightailed it back home and didnt breathe again until I was back inside the door.  Safely.

Once, you checked the road for me and when I absent mindedly went to step just like that you always cautioned me and pulled me back or at least made me aware.  I need someone with me to care enough about me  to look after me as if I am something precious, made of glass.  I need someone to keep danger at bay – even the danger that lives inside me, and my sometimes choices.

One comment on “wait

  1. but each day you persevere is another small triumph where before, there was only defeat.

Leave a Reply

