3 Comments

Reflect upon your present blessings, of which every man has many – not on your past misfortunes, of which all men have some. Charles Dickens.

Tonight I wandered across the City after an hectic work day, with nary a chance to look up or think, never mind scratch myself, and settled in to spend a night alongside mum.

As she knew I was coming, Mum took this opportunity to wash her bedlinen. She can manage to get it off the bed and wash and dry it, but with her arthritic fingers, making the bed is beyond her.  I was delighted to help and knocked off that little job in no time at all.

Mum then started to fuss over feeding me.  We had discussed what I would eat fro dinner yesterday, and I even discussed bringing it with me – which I did, but she anted to do it for me.

We settled, watched a fascinating discussion on Islamic women and hijab, and then mum slept while I kept her company.

I am grateful for this opportunity to just be with her.

3 comments on “Reflect upon your present blessings, of which every man has many – not on your past misfortunes, of which all men have some. Charles Dickens.

  1. I am absolutely delighted that Mum and I have these opportunities and I treasure and relish each one.

  2. We were talking about you last night Mum and I. We have come so close to losing her in the last 2 years that every moment with her is precious.

  3. Mum’s are wonderful people, give her my love xxx. You are lucky, when you don’t have them you remember all those wonderful times, like the one you had tonight

Leave a Reply

