4 Comments

The most beautiful discovery true friends make is that they can grow separately without growing apart. ” ~ Elisabeth Foley

Many years ago when Tess, Pandy and Amy were much much younger – indeed Amy grew within me and was just a small baby, there was a friend I held close to me who was a friend of many many years. We walked beside each other as our children crept towards independence and shared the ups, the downs, the joys , the hurts and the sorrows over many a cup of coffee, or glass of red wine.

We knew each other, well,  and were there for each other and then life moved gears. Work and study changed, relationship with significant others happened and we literally moved in opposite directions; she southward, and me north. Somewhere along the way we lost contact but never lost the caring.

At this point in my life through one of my children she tracked me down and we have begun to catch up. Again hours feel like minutes and that sure knowledge, acceptance and true caring is there. Just there; between us.

Geni and Leonnie asked her if she was going to stay the night ( just like their older sisters did many years before) and it was as if all those years did not sit between us; we picked up exactly as we were and are.

“The greatest good you can do for another is not just to share your riches but to reveal to him his own. ”
~ Benjamin Disraeli

What a gift, and a treasure. She has seen me at my best and at my lowest. She has seen me make some monumentally stupid choices and try to recover, and she has always seen my reasons and accepted me as I am. And I would do anything for her – still. This time I will be careful and mindful we do not lose each other.

Today Geni told me that she and Leonnie REALLY like this friend and I can keep her. Gee thanks girls. I will anyway.

4 comments on “The most beautiful discovery true friends make is that they can grow separately without growing apart. ” ~ Elisabeth Foley

  1. I have long time real life friends that we ( three beautiful good friends ) but we have been through so many ups and downs, but are still friends.

    It’s a wonderful feeling to know that understanding and forgiveness is in our hearts.

    I just wrote a post here this morning, about a sweet and special friend, and the hurt we both caused each other.

  2. I liked reading this. I’ve got a couple of childhood friends that I only see every few years, yet it’s always like we just saw each other last week, and I can call them at a moment’s notice.

  3. …and joan, a good friend or two will make it ( somehow, miraculously) throughout your life with you. And they make all the difference.

  4. You are fortunate. A good friend or two make all the difference in life.

Leave a Reply

