8 Comments

About Jo

My cousin Jo is special and always has been. She had brothers and sisters who were all normal, and something happened with Jo- and she was always a little bit slower….something happened when she was born.

Where normal for the rest of us meant top or somewhere near the top of any class in any subject, for Jo it was all a struggle. That said, she went through school – regular school. And eventually got a job in a factory. A simple menial job -but the ebst she could do.

At work she met someone and fell in love, and they got married and had two little boys. She and her husband got a mortgage and bought a simple little cottage not too far from her mum and dad, and then we found out she had breast cancer.

Jo’s little boys were not at school yet, and they and her husband meant the world to her. So she went through treatment, gave up work, and with the help of her mum and dad, got well again.

Jo has been through several rounds of chemo.

Jo had a scan and the cancer is now in both her lungs. There is little they can do now except make her comfortable. Her boys are not yet in double digits.

Right now my heart goes out to her.

It is a tough time of the year for us. My dad died in November and my mother’s mum and dad both died in November as well. Different years, BUT this month. Aunty Marjorie passed away just two days ago. And now this news.

6 months.
Only.

8 comments on “About Jo

  1. Wow, I am sorry to hear of this. Again, you all are in my thoughts and God bless you all.

    x

  2. I too ask myself the same question. I am grateful for all I am and all I still have.

  3. such a sad story… and once again I ask myself how I managed to really be so lucky in life as I have been…. and it makes my problems seem so minor! {{{hugs}}}

  4. Maggs, your cousin Jo sounds like an amazing woman. She is fortunate to have a cousin like you. My prayers go out to you and your family. {{Hugs}}

  5. Thanks burst. That is a wonderful reminder. Yes she is loved and her life is far more successful than many born with the difficulties she was born with. She loves and is loved. The levity and retweak of perspective was much needed today. been a tough week.

  6. I am sorry for Jo, her babies and her family. I wish her as long a life a God grants but, my friend, do not overlook the success her life has been. She is married and seems happy. she is has two beautiful boys. You love her and I imagine most that know her love her, too.
    God is hard to figure. I don’t know why He does what He does but…I think he has given Jo many things to be thankful for.
    God bless her and all of you.

  7. No. Life is not fair. Jo has struggled and fought hard for less than what all comes easy to all of us. Now this.

  8. What a sad, sad story. Life isn’t fair is it?

Leave a Reply

