Leave a comment

The time to relax is — when you don’t have time for it. – Sydney J. Harris

Busy weekend lined up.  I am just catching my breath before I launch into it.  Followed swiftly by a busy week…and a busy month.  These “catch up” moments and rest, are infinitely precious.

Each work morning just before I arrive at work, facing the Cenotaph is a lone trumpeter.  He comes each morning by pushbike, and resplendent in his bike helmet, shorts, thongs and a day pack, plays his trumpet.  This is not a 12 year old spitting into the mouthpiece, but a man fully grown with a serious and magnificent gift.  Each morning, rain, fog, heat, or sunshine, he is there.  Sometimes I wonder why he has to travel to practice, and this makes me smile.  Other times I am grateful he shares his gift with we mortals cuaght in our workaday patterns.    Yesterday I walked across the road, waiting patiently for him to finish his tune ( that particular tune) and thanked him for gifting my day.  The shock on his face ( or was it surprise) almost made it worthwhile.

Leave a Reply

