4 Comments

Wellness Project

Watched an interview with Mariel Hemingway about a “wellness” lifestyle.  In a nutshell is is about choosing healthy steps to being the best and healthiest you, any of us are able to.  Another gift and reminder from life.

Mariel suggested if a person could do one thing ( and one thing only) different today, then choose a healthier and better breakfast.  The reasoning is that you will feel better by lunchtime and there will be a flow on effect.  She also mentioning living in the moment.

At 50 (plus GST!!) in years, and a serious disease survivor, with a family honeycombed with cancer instances, I am conscious of being around for as long as I am able.  This means the health choices I make MUST support this wish.  There is no magic wand; no pill I can take and wake up tomorrow with the body and the longevity of a 17 year old.  BUT today (this day) I can make choices that build my dream and my wish.

I am going to post lyrics from a beautiful ditty sung by Donovan in the movie Brother Sun, Sister Moon.  Now my age IS showing, and my generation.

If you want your dream to be
Build it slow and surely.
Small beginnings, greater ends
Heartfelt work grows purely.

If you want to live life free
Take your time go slowly.
Do few things but do them well
Simple joys are holy.

Day by day,
Stone by stone,
Build your secret slowly.
Day by day,
You’ll grow too,
You’ll know heaven’s glory.

If you want your dream to be
Build it slow and surely.
Small beginnings, greater ends,
Heartfelt work grows purely.
If you want to live life free
Take your time go slowly.


We have been given a body which grows with us, cell by cell, for some time.  At a point it largely stops growing BUT don’t underestimate the parts that regenerate if we adequately nourish it and care for it.  We do maintenance on the cars and vehicles we drive, how much more should we care for and maintain actively the body our soul lives this life in?

Just some Wednesday thoughts.  On that note, I am planning my weekly menu and exercise goals.  I will then invest one hour in this day exercising my body.  Later I will do some study and stretch my mind.  I will touch base with those I love and those I care for.  I will ensure I get sufficient sleep and rest.

4 comments on “Wellness Project

  1. Spoon, each “there” is unique, as we are unique, but small changes can and will have eventual impact. Your choices, your change. I supported ou every step, every committment along the way, and share my own.

  2. “choose a healthier and better breakfast. The reasoning is that you will feel better by lunchtime and there will be a flow on effect.”
    Thank you for posting this! I have read same messages on eating healthy but not this. Little by little we will reach there — wherever our ‘there’ is.
    🙂

  3. One day, one small step, one choice is all it takes to begin, Doris. Just one and be kind and loving with yourself, too. You are not the only one on this journey.

  4. You are so on track with your words of wisdom for today…..and I know it is all so true. I start out each week with such good intentions and then life happens. Not bad stuff, just the day to day life stuff and the next thing you know I didn’t walk for two days and then I had that extra class of wine and the bad builds and the good intentions get forgotten and then I start beating myself up. But tomorow is another day and I will take your words and move forward, positiviely and energetically for a new tomorrow and a better me.

Leave a Reply

