6 Comments

you can have everything- just not all at once.

I am adopting that as my latest mantra.  It is about acceptance, being in the moment and being honest with myself around what I am, the energy I have and what I can accomplish and realise that making choices – choosing one thing over another- does not mean I let go of that thing forever, rather just for now. “Every act of will is an act of self-limitation. To desire action is to desire limitation. In that sense, every act is an act of self-sacrifice. When you choose anything, you reject everything else.” ~G K Chesterton

Acknowledging this is liberating.  It enables me to make these choices.  Couple that with the confidence to opt not to do more than I am able to – and the ability to say no, and it eases each day. “There are two primary choices in life; to accept conditions as they exist, or accept the responsibility for changing them.”~ Denis Waitley

The ideas and ideals, the dreams and the hunger for the new is eased and still there.  It also allows me to prioritise.  What adventures await me.

6 comments on “you can have everything- just not all at once.

  1. My current adventures are domestic, academic and work based, but close and dear to my heart. Every single minute has value. Even the ups and the downs.

  2. That filip of excitement lifts all of me. *nods**

  3. Hye Petal. I like the title too. i like the sentiment. And that small smidgeon of …hope. Wishing it towards you as well.

  4. Stopping by, I like the title. I hope this finds you well.

  5. I like your new mantra! Appreciate what is and be excited on what to come 🙂

  6. I enjoy reading your blog immensely. Someone awarded me and I’m passing it along to you. You are more than just versatile, but here it is: http://colddeadheart.wordpress.com/2011/03/13/versatility-rules/

Leave a Reply

