2 Comments

Mothers’ Day 2011

Mothers’Weekend was more like it and a long weekend at that!

Now some of my daughters are mothers in their own right with little ( and not so little) kidlings, how does one celebrate Mothers’ Day?  Leonnie asked me how I felt having a day dedicated to just me, so we went into the whole idea of why these days exist.  The cynical me talked of marketing and sales revenue.  After all should we not appreciate people who are there for us all the time and not just once a year?

I suggested we look at a “named” celebration day as a prompt to remember.  It never hurts to let someone know you appreciate them and are proud of them.  But in truth, for me, I am grateful to each of my children I spoke with yesterday as I am any day we talk.

I can that each of my children have come packed with lessons for me, personally.  Each one has been and is a deep part of my personal life journey and I would not send even one back – even when things get strained between us.  I love them, each and every one, faults and all, and wish only the very best for them, and for the children they are now bringing into this world.  Each one of them is a light that shines brighter within my personal universe.

They are not perfect as I myself am not perfect.  But they are learning and growing and I love them deeply – each and every one.

My mother I still have and for this I am exceedingly grateful.  When Leonnie travelled back to her dad’s place yesterday,w e took a detour across the city ( sh and I) to spend some time with my Mum.  She is now 84 ( almost 85) and in the last few years there has been more than one occasion when I thought my journey with her might be ending.  Gratefully she has won those battles.  Two hours to get there.  Two hours to get home.  Geni stayed home as she has come down with some viral infection and we certainly don’t want to share that with Gran!!

As always the hour or so I spent in her company was easy time.

2 comments on “Mothers’ Day 2011

  1. Happy Mother’s Day to one of the most resilient mom I know! Hugggs and love to you! 🙂

  2. Happy Mother’s Day to you, Maggs 🙂 It was interesting to read about your day. Your Mum and my Mom are just about same age …mine is 87 soon to be 88. Yes I agree! It is a marketing thing…

Leave a Reply

