2 Comments

Effort

Lately, words have lain buried beneath a huge stopper feelings building.  All around me, people I care deeply for are battling.  The hard thing for me is that I am unable to “fix” any of it.  All I can do, is listen, be there when they need me and wish my heart into healing.

Words did not dry up.  Words disappeared beneath the magnitude of these journeys.  But there are lessons for us all.

“We can do no great things, only small things with great love.”  ~Mother Teresa

There is a delicate line between being there for someone and taking over.  Sometimes it is our place to be there for and not to bustle in , roll up our sleeves and flurry into doing.

“I am only one, but I am one.  I cannot do everything, but I can do something.  And I will not let what I cannot do interfere with what I can do.”  ~Edward Everett Hale

Work is challenging and hectic.  As I journey through my hours and days there, it is obvious to me that everyone is battling something.  These multitude of somethings may be small or larger, but they are part of life’s journey.  Here I can, as I can, I find a way to say one nice thing to each person I meet.  Sometimes that one small comment is the difference to them between a good day and a bad day.  Sometimes it is the only thing that is mine to do.

‘This is the true joy in life – being used for a purpose recognized by yourself as a mighty one; being thoroughly worn out before you are thrown on the scrap heap; being a force of nature instead of a feverish selfish little clod of ailments and grievances complaining that the world will not devote itself to making you happy.” ~George Bernard Shaw

On the positive all these trials and tribulations are opportunities that pull my focus back to living in each and every moment; to immediacy.  We cannot change the past, the future despite the lists we make and the plans is uncertain NOT just for those facing the end of life’s journey.  We are all old. None of us can guarantee a tomorrow although we all plan to wake up and do things.

Today is a good day.  I am awake.  I am warm and snug as winter chills the world around us.  I have sufficient food and the ability to plan menus and cook well and substantially.  Food is plentiful, safe and affordable as is water.  I do not need to balance a clay jar on my hip or my head and walk 3 miles to a river or a semi dry well to collect household water for the day.  Others do.

I  have lots of skills and abilities which I can trade for what we need t keep a roof over our heads and to buy the necessities and some wants.  I have goals, personally and professionally.

And I am loved, and I love.  I seek to be a mirror so each person who comes across me or looks my way sees in me a reflection of their own better self…… the one we all strive to become.

The greatest good you can do for another is not just to share your riches but to reveal to him his own.  ~Benjamin Disraeli

 

 

 

2 comments on “Effort

  1. I have poor me moments, but not often. More often I am grateful. I am and constantly learn to value WHAT I have and not what I don’t.

  2. Awesome post.! Everybody whines about what they don’t have, instead of looking at all the REALLY important things they DO have. 🙂

    S

Leave a Reply

