Leave a comment

Maggie’s Annual Review

“No man can know where he is going unless he knows exactly where he has been and exactly how he arrived at his present place.”  ~ Maya Angelou

It is the lead up to the annual anniversary of my physical birth, so I am looking at where I am, and counting my blessing and beginning to look with hope a few steps ahead into life.

I have almost finished the course I began late last year ( although classes finish in November graduation is in May next year. ) I foresee no issues with that.  I am enjoying the classes and have made friends among my fellow students.  We lunch together on each attendance day and debrief hilariously after class before heading home.  Our classes are squished into whole day efforts where we power through volumes of course matter, and all make sure we do the readings before.  This course has been a gift to me; something to focus on in a positive way when all other aspects of my personal security seemed to fall away beneath me.  So, yes.   It has been a year of changes.  A watershed.

There are current health battles; attacks in fact.   But that affects AJ directly, and Leonnie, and these are being handled.  Mum of course is increasingly frail, but I am grateful she is still here with us.

There are changes at work – but I have been working in some sort of environment of change since 2008 – so that is just more of the same, in fact.  I am used to change and know it indicates life and growth…..no stuck in a rut for Maggie.

“this is my life. it is my one time to be me. i want to experience every good thing.” ~ Maya Angelou

For all the challenges and opportunities to learn and grow, there is also so much to look forward to in every day.  I woke up this morning, so it is a good day.  My legs work, my brain functions.  I am alive.

Today we celebrated my birthday with a High Tea celebration at the Art Gallery.   I dressed for the occasion – I mean DRESSED; a simple, elegant dress tailored black dress, stocking, heels, painted finger and toe nails, (yes red with matching lipstick!!), makeup, suitable bag.   Even nice underthings.  Everyone who attended did accordingly.    It struck me just how long it has been since I dressed for something with such care.   I resolved this year coming to at least once a month attend something, somewhere, somehow where it is imperative I dress.

Today is a good day.

Leave a Reply

