4 Comments

A busy and hectic week – and a case for Sargents pies…

My grandson AJ faced another surgery (bravely) at 8 years old on Thursday.  In this one they fed up from the artery in the groin to the jaw, cauterised the blood vessels on the underside, decided not to cauterise those on the top because of the risk of nerve damage, then went in through the cheek with needles to suck every thing out ( and that all went to pathology.) – and a case for Sargents Pies.

GO OUT AN BUY ONE, IF YOU ARE ANYWHERE NEAR ONE OF THEIR VENUES.  I REALISE THIS MAY BE A BIT DIFFICULT FOR OVERSEAS READERS. BUT I SAY SO, STILL.

I didn’t mean the caps lock – but have decided to leave it anyway.  The reason I recommend everyone buy some or one Sargent’s pie is that the company donated the $3 million state of the art bi-plane angiographic machine to westmead children’s hospital, and this is what was used to help AJ.

Directly post surgery, once he was awake, AJ turned his nose up at hospital “light” food so I walked the 400 metres to Oporto and bought what he wanted and walked back with it.  And the amazing little man ate it with relish and beautifully thanked me.

The matter which was sucked out was sent to pathology, so again we wait.  I am sure I hav mentioned many times how much I hate waiting, and how I swear I have completed a Doctorate in waiting???  Still, it must be done, so I endure.

Work is work and there is plenty happening and firing there.

I had the major assignment for Unit 3 due smack in the middle of it – so once home from the hospital on Thursday night I proof read and adjusted ( slightly) what I had written and ensured it was properly referenced and flicked it away into the ether.

I found and joined a local walking group.  We meet up at 7am and walk for an hour at a cracking pace through the local streets.  The area is full of lovely houses and well established trees and gardens, with some challenging hills as well.  For the first time I went on Saturday morning and they are a welcoming group, and we all had coffee afterwards.  I really enjoyed myself.  There is also a running group ( but I am not yet UP to running!!) and a group that box in the local park – I could handle that as well.  BUT I will start with walking.

Geni and Leonnie were with me this weekend, and their friends wandered over and stayed the night.  This meant the evening was filled with happy teenage noises and I awoke to bodies curled like puppies in Geni’s room and on each lounge.  All good.

 

 

 

4 comments on “A busy and hectic week – and a case for Sargents pies…

  1. sorry I’m so late stopping by here. How is AJ doing?
    And about waiting… I also have a degree for waiting! I have waiting on stuff(=people) all my life and hate it!

  2. I think study IS something I can control where there is so much else I cannot!! It is just that. I am so proud of AJ.

  3. My prayers are with AJ and if there were those pies here I would sure support it. Blessings to you all!

Leave a Reply

