Leave a comment

“Lay a firm foundation with the bricks that others throw at you.” -David Brinkley

“If today were the last day of my life, would I want to do what I am about to do today?” ~ Steve Jobs, Stanford commencement address 2005

I can answer that. Yes.  Today has been pleasant and productive,  and before I head out for dinner and theatre with someone dear to me I am just catching up here.

“May the bridges I burn light the way.” ~ Anon

2011 was a watershed for me personally with life provided opportunities for reflection and determining both my values, who is important to me and why, and my passions.  There were opportunities to make decisions about directions in my life and quality of life – none of which I avoided or flinched at.

“By changing nothing, nothing changes.” ~Tony Robbins

Much has changed.

  • The way I look at and approach every day has changed.
  • Relationships have changed dramatically.  I have less people in my life, but those I have kept are here because I value them.
  • The way I choose to eat has changed, and what I eat has changed.
  • The way I choose to spend the money I earn ( or not spend it) has also changed dramatically.
  • How I exercise and the balance between what I eat and the effort i undertake has changed remarkably and dramatically.
  • My understanding of what I want has changed

“Remembering you are going to die is the best way I know to avoid the trap of thinking you have something to lose. You are already naked. There is no reason not to follow your heart.” ~ Steve Jobs, Stanford commencement address 2005

I have goals I am working towards, measurable goals.  Life has already rewarded me and I am sure it can only continue to get better.  I am determined and excited and have support in achieving my goals.

Today I have

  • done several (5) loads of washing,
  • cleaned out the fridge and the pantry,
  • cleaned the kitchen,
  • poached 1 kilo of organic locally grown skinless chicken breasts in master stock
  • defrosted a roast for cooking later this evening for eating across the next few days
  • donated two large bags of books to the local hospital,
  • donated a giant bag of clothing which no longer fits,
  • written 1000 words on one writing project and progressed the second.
  • spent quality time with family
  • planned some outings for Monday to Friday next week

I am grateful for:

  1. The health and strength to make the most of today
  2. Support and encouragement from people I care about
  3. Availability of locally grown fresh vegetables and fruit

 

Leave a Reply

