Leave a comment

“Getting over a painful experience is much like crossing monkey bars. You have to let go at some point in order to move forward.” -C.S. Lewis

“Don’t say you don’t have enough time. You have exactly the same number of hours per day that were given to Helen Keller, Pasteur, Michaelangelo, Mother Teresea, Leonardo da Vinci, Thomas Jefferson, and Albert Einstein.” –Life’s Little Instruction Book

Late summer, Sunday morning with a coffee a laptop and an iPad with a mindmap program.  As I embarked on a careful elimination diet ( 10 days ago) removing all sugar, and anything processed from my eating combined with a balanced series of exercises, I have also found my mind clearing and sparking.  That is, once I got past the caffeine and sugar withdrawal headaches and flu symptoms.

Even 10 days into this 30 day program I am sleeping better, my skin is better and my mind has a clarity I have not felt in quite some time.

So today I am looking at my goals, my personal goals for what I want to accomplish this year.  This has meant looking closely at my life and what it consists of and what it doesn’t.  Then asking myself “Why?”  And when I have that second answer, I ask “why?” again and continue down each and every path until I have no more answers and somehow capturing this information.  I am peeling the onion here to unearth my personal truth.

It has become apparent to me that there are somethings in my life which have been extraneous and over for many years and I have never quite got around to finishing them properly.  These are weights I carry which I no longer need to as I choose to move forward.

“Never too old, never too bad, never too late, never too sick to start from scratch once again.” -Bikram Choudhury

The first list I have to write is of the things I need to tie off finally. What I have discovered is that by looking at these, and accepting them as they are, and making that initial decision to finish things properly and neatly, I already feel lighter.

“In a chronically leaking boat, energy devoted to changing vessels is more productive than energy devoted to patching leaks.” -Warren Buffett

 

Leave a Reply

